top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRustam

CapGaming: " The Game of the Year " Award 2020

Updated: Oct 26, 2021

CapGaming:

" The Game of the Year " Award 2020





Summary of 2020 and “ The Game Awards “:

2020 was a rough year for all of us, be it for a movie director, actors, workers, game developers, and just everyday people due to many worst reasons that could happen in one single year. Many great legends like Maradona, Kobe, Alex Trebek, Sean Connery, and more passed away. Events like the killing of George Floyd, which started the #Blacklivematters rally across the world. The Australian bushfire, which destroyed many buildings, killed around 400 people and approximately 3 billion animals. To top this worst year on, the Covid-19 virus spreading worldwide happened when many people got infected/killed across the globe. It made us follow the rules of social distancing and wear masks while staying at home to be safe. 2020 was just the worst year in the 21st century ‘so far.’


But this also brought us some positive things in our lives. #BlacklivesMatter showed us that we all should love and respect each other equally, be it a different race, color, or religion. Australian Bushfire made us care and love all sorts of animals. Covid, while made us separated from work and loved ones, somehow brought us together via technology and made Humanity realize of its place. Due to lockdowns, it made the ozone layer to heal as well as Pollution levels dropped. And this did not make directors, actors, music singers, and GAME DEVELOPERS to work from home to bring us joy, entertainment, and good times with the games that came out despite the hard times we live on AND OH BOY! What great video-games we got this year.


We got AAA games like CYBERPUNK 2077, Ghost of Tsushima, Final Fantasy 7: Remake, Doom: Eternal, The Last of Us: Part 2, Assassin's Creed Valhalla, Yakuza: Like a Dragon, and much much more. Surprise Indie games like Hades, Fall Guys, CARRION, PHASMOPHOBIA. Games that made a comeback like Among Us that blew up thanks to streamers / YouTubers, No Man Sky keeping itself strong, and surprisingly Fallout 76 been pretty good now. Next-generation consoles are finally here with the release of Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X | S.


And much, much more. We should appreciate the love and hard work that all the developers behind each specific video-game they worked on did during this challenging time. I salute you for the dedication you have put during these challenging times, and this award is for you. To be recognized and be loved for the work you have put into your beloved video-game. So let us celebrate the love of gaming together and hoping for the best to come in 2021 of even more amazing video games with now new consoles been at our homes ( not for me yet as I need to get mine )


SO HERE IT IS! Here is CapGaming presenting: The Game of the Year Award 2020, and I hope you agree with some of the choices I made, and I hope you do read through all of it. Please enjoy and tell me your game for the Specific category in the comments below or talk with me at @_capgaming_ on Instagram


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Worst game of 2020:

“ Fast and Furious: Crossroads “




Let's get the worst stuff out of the way before we move to the good stuff:


When back in 2019’s Game awards Vin diesel announced “ Fast & Furious: Crossroads, “I knew that second that this game is going to be rough and Michael Bay level of explosion and well, it was worse than been rough and not close to Michael Bay level of the explosion but more level of just ASS. I somehow finished it, but as soon as the credit rolled, I ALT+F4 it and deleted it from my PC. Story, Characters, Graphics, Voice-Acting, Driving all of this was just AWFUL. The worst game that I have played in 2020.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Most Disappointing Game of 2020:

“ The Last of Us: Part 2 “




The Last of Us: Part 2 is a hard game to talk about due to it being one of the most controversial games of 2020.


When The last of us: Part 2 was announced back then, I was super excited to see where they are going with it as the first one is one of my favorite game there is and a masterpiece, And I was excited until the HUGE leak happened, which I got spoiled on but I was still optimistic that I knew *that* thing would happen, but I always wanted to see how they are going to tell the story around it and when I finished The Last of Us: Part 2… Well, I was super disappointed about it. I had high hopes for this game, and Naughty Dogs let me down.


Critics might say the other way, but I disagree with them. I think you should read my full review on it to see why I did not like it. BUT YEAH! The last of us: Part 2 is my most disappointing game of 2020, and before you shit on and me and disagree with this, Remember that if you like dit then I can absolutely understand and respect your opinion but for me, it was a letdown.


Runner up on a Disappointing Game of 2020:


Watch Dogs: Legion: It looked like a promising game with play as an NPC, but when it released was a let-down, and I did not finish it


Marvel: Avengers: I was looking forward to it, BUT sadly, when it was released, it had so many issues that it sorts off becoming another game like Antham story of now this game earn less money than they used to make it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Biggest Industry Fail of 2020:

The entity leading to the release of Cyberpunk 2077:


Woah Woah Woah! Before you go into rage and type awful stuff in the comments below, let me explain why this is my Biggest Industry fail of 2020.


Cyberpunk is an excellent game to play if you ignore Bugs, missing features, and all of that stuff but the lead from creating this excitement, which was turned into disappointment. Them hiding the old gen ( PS4 and Xbox One ) review copies to the reviewers and the public, not showing old gen footage which was very suspicious. The promised stuff they showed/talk about all over the internet but then was completely missing in the final release And the delays happening which were very strange for them to delay a game a few weeks before they had original planned. All of this lead-up to the release of Cyberpunk 2077 was just a mess, and to this day, many people say it is their disappointing game of 2020, and there is STILL controversy going around the internet.


CDPR should learn from this HUGE mistake of how not hiding all of these bugs, old gen footage, and trying to show stuff that is not even present in the release version of Cyberpunk, and just never to do what they did with Cyberpunk 2077. I hope we do not hear a single word of Cyberpunk Multiplayer OR it’s DLC until they fix this game and get out of this mess they are in right now.


That is my Gaming Industry FAIL of 2020. I know you might disagree with me on this one BUT for me, this was the industry fail of 2020


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Multiplayer Game of 2020:

“ Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout “



Now that “ Disappointing and Worse games of 2020 “ is done. We get to the good stuff now.


During times where we are locked inside our homes, trying to stay safe from Covid. 1 Game came out of nowhere and made us all join together to just have fun around, compete to get that crown, and that was “ Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout. “


This game was fantastic. I played it back when the beta was open ( got a key :) ) and played a crap ton when it came to full release. It just a FUN, PURE FUN game to relax and play, and that is why it is my Best Multiplayer Game of 2020.


Runner up:

Among Us


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Community Support Game:

“ Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout “





Also, The support for “ Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout “ was and still is just amazing. The Team who runs their Twitter account always put fun stuff on the social media. The game got regular patches and banned hackers from getting new skins/maps each season. Overall they supported this game in every step they can and the community who plays it supported the developers as well.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Best Ongoing / Comeback Game:

“ No Man’s Sky “




No Man’s Sky turned from been a very unfinished and disappointing game when it released to now been worth every penny and a fun space exploration game. The new DLC the team released a few months ago are COMPLETELY FREE which is rare to see in nowadays gaming industry as most of the DLC's and Expansion cost money which is incredible to see No Man's Sky developers giving it for free and the support the developers did for No Man's Sky is just INCREDIBLE—and overall best Ongoing game of 2020 for me.


Runner up:

Destiny 2


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best VR Game:

“ HALF-LIFE: ALYX “




I do not own a VR headset yet, but I saw playing “ Half-Life: ALYX “ from many people and It is hands-down one of the best VR games to date. Half-Life 3 was one of the biggest memes on the internet and people always begged Valve to make a sequel and when Half-Life: Alyx was announced, people were sad that it is a VR exclusive game BUT when many people played it: they said that YES, indeed this game is something special.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Surprise Game of 2020:

“ Among Us “




The game that was made in 2018, few people played it, and then the developers decided not to support it anymore BUT than in 2020 “ Youtubers “ and “ Streamers “ started playing it and IT BLEW UP with a peak like “ 438,524 “ people playing it on Steam at once and surprising the gaming world is a game called “ Among us “


Among us is just such a fun game that you can get ten friends together to have a fun time killing them ( in-game, of course ) and finding out who did it. Developers deserve all the love for bringing us a game in such a rough time to make us laugh and just have a good time. Among us is AWESOME.


Runner up:

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout “


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Strategy Game:

“ Desperados 3 ”





Even tho I would understand and be happy if many people give Yakuza: Like a Dragon OR Wasteland 3 the “ Best Strategy game of 2020 “ cause that game is AMAZING, but I wanted to give it to Desperados 3 cause this game when I was playing it gave me tears of reminding me of my childhood favorite game “ Commandos 2 “


When I was playing it, I loved the characters, story, and everything about it so much that I did the extra missions there are as well as will be returning when all DLC’s come out. It even made me replay Commandos 2 which brought so many good childhood memories 🥺. This game is amazing and I highly recommend that you get it, play it, and support the developers.


Runner up:

Yakuza: Like a Dragon, Wasteland 3, Gears: Tactics


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Independent / Indie Game:

“ Hades ”




Hades is HANDS-DOWN the best Indie game that I played in 2020. Everything about it is just FANTASTIC. The soundtrack, story, characters, voice-acting, and everything of it is just mind-blowingly great and it is such a good game that I have to spend so much time in it and each time hear new dialogues and get to see new stuff. Will be definitely returning back to it every now and then.


JUST PLAY IT ALRIGHT! It is great


Runner up:

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockdown / Carrion / Among Us


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Roleplaying ( RPG ) Game:

“ Yakuza: Like a Dragon / Wasteland 3 ”




I just could not select one for this category, Wasteland 3 was FANTASTIC with you making your characters, putting up skills on your characters, selecting weapons for each class, and making your adventure with your chooses making effect for this world. Yakuza: Like a Dragon had you choose who you want to be in your group, which skills, weapons, and heat points they get, and choosing a class for him.


BOTH stand out in their vision to the BEST Roleplaying game that I have played in 2020 and I simply couldn’t choose one so I give it to both of them cause they deserve it


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Soundtrack:

“ Cyberpunk 2077 “




For the best soundtrack of 2020, it was one hell of a ride for it. First, I had FF7: Remake here.. Than Doom: Eternal took its spot cause that music is SICK. Then Hades went ahead due to that music and especially one with the end one was OUTSTANDING and then when Cyberpunk 2077 came out and I heard only the Combat soundtrack of it, well it blew me away.


Cyberpunk 2077 combat and just overall soundtrack was something special as it always pumped me up whenever I entered a fight in it. Cyberpunk 2077 is just definitely my type of music and that is why it is my " Best Soundtrack in a video-game in 2020 "


I mean just listen to this, Ain't it just AMAZING: https://youtu.be/m872DUvvic0


Runner up:

DOOM: Eternal, Final Fantasy 7: Remake, and HADES.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Looking / Graphics:

“ Ghost of Tsushima “




I think it is plain simply why “ Ghost of Tsushima “ is my Best Looking game of 2020. Ghost of Tsushima was just a perfect game to end the Playstation 4 and OH MAN era! It looks incredible, I mean it looks so good on the old ancient PS4 that I was surprised by its seconds’ low loading times and thought this game came out on PC cause the only PC with high-end cards can run games with amazing graphics how it looked. The screenshots I got and seeing all over the internet on this game were just mindblowing, and I can’t wait to see what Sucker Punch comes up next <3


Runner up:

The Last of Us: Part 2 / DOOM: Eternal


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best DLC / Expansion:

Metro Exodus: Sam’s Story.




I bet you forgot about the DLC coming out in 2020, Metro Exodus was my Game of the Year 2019 for many reasons, and this DLC was incredible. I loved the story of what happens to Sam’s and exploring this new map in this DLC, and just overall had an amazing time with it that I went and did 100% of that DLC.


So Yeah, Play Metro: Exodus, and it’s DLC, and I can’t wait for the next adventure in Metro universe.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Narrative Story of 2020:

Yakuza: Like a Dragon





Even I would absolutely agree with you if you chose Ghost of Tsushima, Final Fantasy 7: Remake, or Hell! The Last of Us: Part 2 had some good storytelling in it even if I did not like it BUT for me when I sat down and thought which story surprised me a lot, for some reason Yakuza: Like a Dragon came into my mind.

Yakuza: Like a dragon had some of an amazing story that I have played in 2020, It had all kinds of stuff in the story from suspense, twist, serious, funny, shocking moments in its storyline and I simply can’t forget about it ( especially the end ). Yep, Yakuza: Like a Dragon takes my best Narrative Story of 2020


Runner up:

Ghost of Tsushima / Final Fantasy 7: Remake / The Last of Us: Part 2


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Art Direction Game:

Ghost of Tsushima




I mean it is easy to choose Ghost of Tsushima when it also won my “ Best Looking Game of 2020 “. It is stunning to look at and in almost every single new location I went to, I had to stop what I was doing and just look around for 30 seconds and say “ WOW! This is just Beautiful “ and take some screenshots as well. Developer SuckerPunch’s feudal Japanese sandbox is nothing short of gorgeous and the things they have done in it is nothing short of realism and beauty


Runner up:

Hades


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Action Game:

Hades




No surprises here, Hades easily had one of the best fighting mechanics in any videogame of 2020, Yeah Doom: Eternal combat is also fantastic BUT hades is something else as you can choose what weapon you want to start your run with, what skills you want to put on it and as you clean each level, you get to choose which gem you select and which effect you want to take.


Hades, Best Combat / Action game of 2020, no questions asked.


Runner up:

DOOM: Eternal / Ghost of Tsushima


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Action and Adventure Game:

Ghost of Tsushima:




Now for Action only, Hades was the best but when you combine the adventure you get in a game + The action you have then Ghost of Tsushima takes it for me. I had an absolutely beautiful time in Ghost of Tsushima where I loved doing my 100% run of it as well as Loved the world and actions it had to offer.


Runner up:

DOOM: Eternal / Cyberpunk 2077


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Moment in a video-game of 2020:

“ Ghost of Tsushima Intro “


I mean I can easily say that this year in gaming we had some beautiful and goosebumps moments in gaming, BUT the one that stands out for me is the Intro and Title drop that happens in Ghost of Tsushima, That dropped my jaws down and I rewatched every single streamer / YouTuber reaction to it and they had the same reaction that I had.


The way Sucker Punch introduces you to this beautiful world of Ghost of Tsushima to the way your hero rides in a flower-filled field to search for what he wants to the music playing in the background was just a beautiful and tear-dropping moment in 2020 that I have experience. That even outdone for me the Honestable mention of the amazing music that starts playing in your first combat you encounter in Wasteland 3 which also was a perfect start to that game. For me, Ghost of Tsushima Intro was the “ Best Moment of 2020 “


Runner up:

Wasteland 3 first fight Music / Finding the Golden Scorpion in Wasteland 3 / Finding out who helped you in the past scene in Desperados 3.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Voice Acted Game of 2020:

“ Yakuza: Like a Dragon “




Yakuza: Like a Dragon had one of the best English localization that I have seen in any Japanese videogame. The team behind at Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio found some amazing people to voice act in this game in the English language and they did a fantastic job in it. I was honestly surprised at how good the English localization was in this game that I hope other developers who want to bring their game into the west do this kind of amazing work. Bravo Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio 👏


Runner up:

The Last of Us: Part 2 / Hades


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The Best in-game character of 2020:

Ichiban Kasuga - Yakuza: Like a Dragon




With an amazing voice acting comes one of the hardest things that Ryu Ga Gotoku has done yet for me a memorable character in a Yakuza game and that is Ichiban Kasuga who is the main hero of this game. Now why did I say the hardest thing that Ryu Ga Gotoku have done, Well let me explain:


Yakuza was always about Kiryu and how badass he was and serious in most of the times throughout the Yakuza 1 to 6 games and now that Kiryu journey has come to the end, it was a hard job for Ryu Ga Gotoku to great a main character that the fan of the Yakuza series would love and they nailed it with Ichiban. The passing of the torch from Kiryu to Ichiban was tearful yet an amazing opportunity for the team to bring a new person / a new hero to the Yakuza series which we would love. Ichiban was perfect as a serious dude loves to talk, though never in a bad way compare to Kiryu who barely talked, is funny, Kasuga is never afraid to display his strength of resolve, but at the same time, he's never afraid to show empathy either. Kiryu acts as the sort-of strong silent type, whereas Kasuga is loud and proud with basically everything he does.


TL;DR Ichiban is one of the character that I have played in a videogame in 2020 that I remember till now and can’t wait to see what the team does with him in Yakuza 8 and moving forward <3


Runner up:

Abby / Ellie from The Last of Us: Part 2 / Cloud from Final Fantasy 7: Remake

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Best Audio Design:

Doom: Eternal



Doom: Eternal audio design was top-notch in every shape and foam, The reloading of the shotgun to the rapid-fire of machine guns to the knife slicing an enemy in 2 pieces to the sound of the demons, lava flowing down, inside a room, walls creaking too much much more. I was super impressed by the world of Doom: Eternal that I simply was scared in real life cause of just imagining how the hell would look like due to the Audio Design on it.

For Runner up, I have to mention that Ghost of Tsushima was easily 2nd in this list, The wind blowing around the character to the swing sound of the Sword, Ghost of Tsushima developers also did a fantastic job on the audio aspect of the game 👏

Runner up:

Ghost of Tsushima


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


“ Game that did not come out in 2019 BUT I played it in 2019 and liked it “ Award:


F.E.A.R Series

( F.E.A.R 1 / F.E.A.R 2 / F.E.A.R 3 )




F.E.A.R was a surprise game that I heard of but never got the chance to play but when NOPEtober came so I decided to give it a shot and… well, It was a fantastic experience to play through all of them. F.E.A.R 1 and F.E.A.R 2 were creepy yet chilling experience to go through and F.E.A.R 3 has been well, not so great compared to the first 2.


Overall I am happy that I played through them and now understand why people love the F.E.A.R Series so much <3


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TOP 5 Anticipated Game for 2020:


Here are some of the few games that have already been announced THAT I am super excited to play them in 2021 ( if of course they do not get delayed till 2022 that is ):


P.S: they are in no particular order.


1. S.T.A.L.K.E.R 2:

I have always been a BIG fan of the STALKER series and remember clearly playing a ton of it in my childhood so when they announced that STALKER 2 is in the making, I jumped out of my seat. Super excited to roam the wasteland with strange things and get eaten by monsters.


2. God of War: Ragnarok:

God of War ( 2018 ) was AWESOME and I know this one will be awesome, especially when the teaser was shown and Ragnarok dropped ( which means a big battle between Gods ) which can be epic because I know they can make it EPIC. Can’t wait


3. Final Fantasy 7 Remake 2 ( or whatever they are gonna call it ):

After for the first time playing FF7 in 2020, I now understand the love it has and I have also become one of the fans of this game now. Now I super can’t wait to see this journey go in the next chapter of the Final Fantasy 7


4. DeathLoop:

Dealthloop has an interesting concept behind it which is something that can be amazing if done right. So I hope they do it right and I have my hopes up for this game.


5. Horizon: Forbidden West:

Horizon: Zero Dawn was amazing and was my No.2 game in my 2017 GOTY list. I did replay it on PC in 2020 and loved it as I did back when I played it. With now the adventure of Aloy continues in Forbidden West. I can’t wait to see what Guerrilla Games takes us.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


My Last Year Game of the Year was:

Metro: Exodus


And we are finally here, Here are my TOP 10 games that were released in 2020 and I played them and enjoyed every aspect of what it had to offer. 2020 took me on wild rides in these TOP 10 games that I am about to mentions and I am impressed with how games get better and better each year and how much love each of the following developers has put into their games. So without further do, Sit back, Listen to music or have something to eat and enjoy…


Here is my TOP 10 GOTY list <3:


“Game of the Year 2020” List:

Honorable mentions:

Here are some games that could not make my TOP 10 list but deserve to be called out:

13. Gears: Tactics:

The Coalition first try on a Turn-based tactics games was IMO a success cause even though I have never played any Gears games; I enjoyed the world, characters, and the tactics it had to offer in Gears: Tactics and I hope to see a sequel to this with an improvement of what a great try they had on this one.

12. Carrion:

Carrion was a short yet gut-filling good game that I played in 2020 ( get it… gut-filling ). Carrion is a horror game where you take control of unknown origins and eat all the humans to Escape the facility you are in and I loved it. A simple game yet a great one so please do check it out cause it’s great.

11: Ghostrunner:

Cyberpunk was a hyped thing before the release and anything that had this word attached with had hyped behind it, Same goes for Ghostrunner cause I remember seeing it in one of the shows and playing the demo and LOVED it. I loved how it was basically Hotline Miami but 3D and having music to pump my blood up and honestly when it released fully in 2020, I loved it so much that did a full review on the release.


Ghostrunner offers fast-paced, violent combat, and an original setting that blends science fiction with post-apocalyptic themes and it was great throughout. One of the games that are MUST-TO-PLAY to see why Cyberpunk worlds are pretty damn cool.

10. BEAUTIFUL DESOLATION

THE BROTHERHOOD

( 8/10 ) ( 15 hours )



There were many reasons why “ BEAUTIFUL DESOLATION “ made my TOP 10 list but the main reason was that I loved the design of it, The developers behind it did something incredible and creative with it. Locations were so greatly done that whenever I got to a new location for the first time, I was like “ OMG! That is creepy “. The characters that I met in this game were so well designed that I would just stare at them for a while minute, looking at so many things that were going ON on them.

“ BEAUTIFUL DESOLATION “ is a crazy cool adventure game that questions the “ PAIN OF BEEN IMMORTAL “. The world design was beautiful, It has an engaging story with some amazing art style, The gameplay though is a point and click BUT it was smooth, your choices matter with many puzzles to solve, an excellent production level on sound design. OVERALL “ BEAUTIFUL DESOLATION “ is an incredible game that every point and click gamers should experience.

9. Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout

Mediatonic

( 9/10 ) ( 40 Hours and counting )



During times where we got Covid and made us all bored and away from friends in 2020, Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout came out and brought us Joy and friends closer. Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout is a really fun kids level Battle Royale where you compete with others to be the last one standing and get that beautiful crown. It is a self-explanatory game and fun to just sit back, have some food near you and play and have fun in it. The developers constantly keeps the game updated with new maps, new skins, new modes, and such and I am happy to see that from the developers.

Also a special shoutout to the guy who runs their Twitter account cause of the amazing stuff he does in it and the fun he has in it.

8. Desperados 3

Mimimi Games

( 9/10 ) ( 30 Hours )

Review: " Desperados 3 "




Desperados 3 was a special game for me in 2020 and special in a way that it reminded me of the fun and joy I had in one particular videogame that I played and loved when I was just a child… And that games are “ Commandos 2 “


Commandos 2 was awesome where you can control a group of people; with one who can disguise while the other can throw knives and just try to kill everyone, do objectives, and pass the mission. Desperados 3 was exactly that, You control a group of 5 people each having their own abilities like one guy can throw knife while the others can place “Bianca” AKA a bear trap and whistle so the enemies can step on it and die. Desperados 3 was also a simple yet engaging storyline about revenge and the ending was satisfying. I think you should check out my review on it to find out why i loved it so much


Can’t wait for the DLC which the developers have planned and can’t wait for Desperados 4 if they ever do it.


7. DOOM: Eternal

( id Software )

( 9/10 ) ( 22 hours + 5 hours [ DLC 1 ] )

Review: " DOOM: Eternal "




DOOM: Eternal needs no introductions, It is a well know game since 1993, and in 2016 id Software decided to bring it back with more badass and more blood and so that was such a success that We got DOOM: Eternal which is more brutal, more badass and more BLOOD.


DOOM: Eternal though went in a more arcadey way than how serious and realistic DOOM 2016 was but I never minded it and enjoyed playing on the Nightmare difficulty ( OH BOY! That was a tough difficulty ). Love how id Software worked more on developing the story and lore of DOOM and how awesome the maps and demons were. DOOM: Eternal also had one of the amazing and my runner up for “ Best Soundtrack “ that I have heard in 2020 and Mick Gorden did fantastic work on it. The First DLC was also a wild ride which made it, even more, harder to do than the main game storyline had which was a ride to have.


OVERALL! DOOM is just more DOOM; More badass, soundtrack to keep your blood pumping while killing demons and overall DOOM Eternal is one of the best FPS games that I have ever played in recent years


6. Final Fantasy 7: Remake

( Square Enix )

( 9/10 ) ( 52 Hours )




Final Fantasy 7: Remake was my first experience on entering the Final Fantasy universe and MAN! What a great way it was. Final Fantasy 7: Remake blew my expectations away and also made me realize on why people love the Final Fantasy series as well as why people love the original Final Fantasy 7 so much.


Everything in Final Fantasy: 7 Remake is just perfect to have in a single videogame, The story was very amazing and interesting to be invested in, Characters especially Cloud and Tifa were well voice acted and overall written in every aspect, The world of FF7 was very beautiful to look at and This game made me love the Final Fantasy world and made me a new fan of the Final Fantasy fanbase.


I can’t wait to check out where they will take this story in Final Fantasy 7: Remake 2 or whatever they are gonna call it and I have definitely put the Original Final Fantasy 7 and other Final Fantasy games in my “ To Play “ list to play soon.


5. Cyberpunk 2077

( CD Projekt Red )

( Currently Playing - Doing a 100% Run )




Oh, Man! Where do I start with this? I really was very hyped on this game and I was praying that it would be so good that it be my GOTY or even in my TOP 3 but after playing it and seeing all the bugs / missing features and the awful performance on PS4 and Xbox One it had and just seeing how they should have delayed this game for one more year than rushing it and releasing in *this* state. I just got hurt on putting in so low in this list cause Cyberpunk 2077 in its current state can be described like this… “ Cyberpunk 2077 is a gem of a game which is yet to be cut and polished “


I will explain more in detail when I finish my 100% playthrough of it but there is a part of the game which I absolutely loved it. Like the main storyline which is YES! Short than Witcher 3 but fantastic in every shape or foam. Side-Missions I am shocked to see them been side missions cause of how good they are that I was hoping they were part of the main storyline. The soundtrack I mean won my “ Best Soundtrack of 2020 “ so that’s awesome. The characters are fantastic especially Johnny Silverhand AKA Keanu performance in it. Night City is beautiful to look at and explore. Even tho optional missions like Gigs and such are repetitive, I enjoy doing them and never was bored of them and much much more


But sadly, on the other hand, there are a lot of Performance issues. Bugs everywhere Running Awful on PS4 and Xbox One. Missing features like no bounty system that they have talked about before, Incredible character customization during creation / in-game, No Metro System. Awful and like AWFUL cops system and more ( Will talk in details in my full review ).


But Tl;dr Yeah, it’s a bummer I have to put this game so low on the list cause I honestly expected something else than this. Hopefully in 2021 if they have patched the game, adding missing features, and had some cool DLC’s I would be able to put in in my “ Best Comeback “ or even my GOTY of 2021 cause right now… I hope CD Projekt Red has dug a grave for themself with the release of Cyberpunk 2077 in its current state and they can either 1. Get themself out of it by patching the game and making it great or 2. Go Bethesda rough with all the stuff they did with Fallout 76 which I hope they will not.


Only time will tell.


4. Ghost of Tsushima ( 100% )

( Sucker Punch Studio )

( 9/10 ) ( 50 hours )

Review: " Ghost of Tsushima "




Don’t get me wrong, Ghost of Tsushima is an incredible game, and if it is your GOTY than I can understand it and it deserves it too but the only reason it is in No.4 is that the other games hit me hard compare to Ghost of Tsushima which also did but not in the level of other games.


But Ghost of Tsushima is an amazing game and one of the best-looking games of 2020. I was seriously shocked when I thought about how Sucker Punch put such a beautiful game with barely any loading times in an ancient console that is PS4. It looks beautiful, runs smoothly ( on PS4 pro at least ), Has a really interesting setting set in Japan, Characters, and the storyline was great.


Ghost of Tsushima is such a good game that every owner of the PS4 should play it before selling your PS4 and getting a PS5 ( Though you can play it on PS5 as well with smooth 60fps ). It is just an amazing game made by Sucker Punch with the Latest Free DLC been like putting a cherry on the already amazing cake. I can’t wait to see what they have for us next


3. Wasteland 3

( inXile Entertainment )

( 9/10 ) ( 70 Hours )

Review: " Wasteland 3 "




Wasteland 3 is one of the best RPGs that I have played in a while and has the best stuff that a Role-Playing game can do; an engaging story with great writing and characters, heavy customization, deep turn-based combat, and a living world.


Wasteland 3 was so special that it gave me goosebumps when that music dropped in the first combat you have. It also has such an engaging story that every choice you make matters and will affect how others feel about you. I honestly had some hard time choosing to side with whom cause I was afraid of how will other party react to me and how my choice will affect the astonishing word that Inxile has built and THAT only a few games do to me. One of those games that I think deserves more recognition than it got in The Game Awards and all the other awards.


Inxile; if you are somehow reading this then I want to say that You did an incredible job on Wasteland 3 and I can’t wait to see what adventure you take us in whatever your next game is <3


2. Yakuza: Like a Dragon

( Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio )

( 9.5/10 ) ( 52 Hours )




Yakuza: Like a Dragon was everything I expected and even more than I thought. It is perfect in almost every way there is for an RPG game. Yakuza Like a Dragon is now my favorite game in this whole series with Yakuza 0 been 2nd. It for me definitely surpass my expectation that I had for it.


Yakuza: Like a Dragon is a large departure from how the other Yakuza games were made. Other Yakuza are very well known for the action-combat with upgrading your character with heat-modes while Yakuza: Like a Dragon turns itself its head with been JRPG system. You can have a party system with each character having their jobs or classes if you want to call that. there is a full list of gears and weapons similar to in an RPG game, there are skills to level. No more action game like other Yakuza games are but now it is turned in a Turn-based system which honestly worked well with previously you had to fight to heat your heat-gauge and than do the heat move while here each skill feels like it’s own heat move


But at the end of the day, This Yakuza is a Yakuza game in its heart. There are a ton of mini-games to do all have been pretty fun. Lot of side-missions to do which are funny and well made. Main-story has been incredible with many twists and turns each moment. Excellent Characters with a great soundtrack. The game is available in both Japanese or English while Japanese has always been great in Yazkua games, The localization team in Ryu Ga Gotoku Studio has done an amazing job on bringing it to the west and the English voice-acting and subtitles were just awesomely done


Overall Yakuza: Like a Dragon would have been my GOTY of 2020 if the other game did not happen and I can guess you know what it is…


GOTY 2020:

1. Hades

( Supergiant Games )

( 10/10 ) ( Still playing every now and then)




No surprise here, Hades is my Game of the Year of 2020, and MAN! What an incredible game it is and what an outstanding job Supergiant Games have done on it. The mechanics, Story, Characters, Skills, Weapons, and everything that the developers have done in it is just out of this world. Hades actually ruins my thinking on any other roguelike game cause if they do not do it at the level of how Supergiant Games have done here then I might not enjoy it that much.


And the best part is that Hades has only released on 1.0 with me every time going back and hearing new dialogues each time and I even have heard that someone played it for 100 hours and still hears new stuff, sees new bosses, and still have plenty of skills to updates… 100 HOURS and you still see and hear new things is something that I have never seen in any videogames. Hades is just AWESOME and a game that I will keep playing throughout 2021 and always be there when new stuff is released for these games


Hades, My “ Game of the Year 2020 “... Congrats to SuperGiant Games and everyone working on it, I can’t wait to see what new stuff you add and what is next for us <3


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


And that’s a wrap for 2020, I hope you enjoyed all the games that I have mention and hope you enjoyed this list, One last time doing sellout of myself, you can find me on @_CapGaming_ on Instagram or Email me at Captainrazel@gmail.com.


Hope we get even more great games in 2021 and in 2021 we all be able to return to normal and go to all the E3 and good stuff and be free like we always were. HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE <3


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page